Event box

Shakespeare: Comedies, Histories & Tragedies

Shakespeare: Comedies, Histories & Tragedies

Brush Up Your Shakespeare!

Experience your favorite Shakespeare plays through film adaptations accompanied by video lectures from the Great Courses given by award-winning teacher of Shakespeare, Professor Peter Saccio of Dartmouth College.  Each week, you will either watch a selected film adaptation of a Shakepare play or the video lecture on that play by Professor Saccio.  Discussions will follow, as time permits.  Refreshments wil be served.

We will be showing the 1983 film "King Lear," directed by Michael Elliot and starrring Laurence Olivier, Leo McKern and Diana Rigg. (2h 40m)

Dates & Times:
10:00am - 12:00pm, Thursday, January 24, 2019
10:00am - 12:00pm, Thursday, January 31, 2019
10:00am - 12:20pm, Thursday, February 7, 2019
10:00am - 12:00pm, Thursday, February 14, 2019
10:00am - 12:00pm, Thursday, February 21, 2019
10:00am - 12:00pm, Thursday, February 28, 2019
10:00am - 12:00pm, Thursday, March 7, 2019
10:00am - 12:30pm, Thursday, March 14, 2019
10:00am - 12:00pm, Thursday, March 21, 2019
10:00am - 12:15pm, Thursday, March 28, 2019
10:00am - 12:00pm, Thursday, April 4, 2019
10:00am - 1:15pm, Thursday, April 11, 2019
10:00am - 12:00pm, Thursday, April 18, 2019
10:00am - 12:00pm, Thursday, April 25, 2019
10:00am - 12:00pm, Thursday, May 9, 2019
10:00am - 1:00pm, Thursday, May 16, 2019
10:00am - 12:00pm, Thursday, May 23, 2019
10:00am - 12:45pm, Thursday, May 30, 2019
10:00am - 12:00pm, Thursday, June 6, 2019
Library:
Swarthmore Public Library
Location:
Council Room
Audience:
  Adults     Seniors     Teens  
Categories:
  Lectures     Movies  

Library

Profile photo of Swarthmore Public Library
Swarthmore Public Library

More events like this...